Mixed media artist….

I am a mixed media artist who uses a variety of materials. I often find the subject matter dicates the materials used. Recently my work has taken me through the looking glass, To explore element both real and imagined. Using the camera lens and  and mirror as my methodology I have photographed the heterotopic quality of the mirror image & reflections, observing the multiple reflections, and shifts in perspective. The camera is a tool that helps to visualise my thinking process, my work consists of multiple layering captured naturally through searching out imagery within reflections.

 

”From the standpoint of the mirror, I discover my absence from the place where I am since I see myself over there. Starting from this gaze as it is as it were, directed toward me from the ground of the virtual space that is on the other side of the glass” (Foucault, 2009) 

